How do you find your inspiration?

Taking a tinsy break from the trending to ask you a question, How do you find your inspiration for what you do? I understand that this question may be somewhat broad, but I like knowing what inspires people. For me what inspires me to be the best at something, especially my professional life is to be able to give my family the life they deserve. In my creative life, that can vary hugely on my mood, but i guess to sum it up I get inspired by things that are out of the norm, the mundane, and ordinary. I guess that’s why most of my screen names I’m called UNORTHODOX_YSA (a little shameless self advertising: follow me on twitter @unorthodox_ysa, and socialbliss.com/unorthodox_ysa).

This is what I look forward to whenever I see a designer being interviewed, or when I actually have a chance to talk to a designer. I love hearing what inspires her to make such beautiful pieces of art. Then when you find out, everything in the collection starts telling a story. It makes you feel much more passionate about the craft, and it also let’s you get to know the designer a little more.

A few examples:

Image

INSPIRATION FOR VIVIENNE WESTWOOD PARIS F/W 2013

“THE BEAUTY OF MEDIEVAL THINGS”

Image

 

INSPIRATION FOR KENZO F/W 2013 PARIS FASHION WEEK

THE DUO TOOK A PILGRIMAGE THROUGH INDIA, CHINA, AND NEPAL, TO THE SOARING HEIGHTS OF THE TEMPLE’S PINNACLES WHERE THE SYMBOLS OF THE EYE BEAMS AS PROTECTOR IN ALL DIRECTIONS: NORTH, SOUTH, EAST, WEST.

 

Image

 

INSPIRATION FOR GROUND ZERO’S READY TO WEAR COLLECTION F/W 2013

 

THIS ONE WAS KIND OF OBVIOUS: EXTRATERRESTRIALS OMING DOWN TO EARTH :]

 

Image

 

INSPIRATION FOR MANISH ARORA‘S F/W LINE 2013

The show took inspiration from nature, particularly the vast landscape of the Nevada wild.

 

I guess what I’m trying to get at is not to be afraid to tell your story and share your inspiration. If fashion stops being fun, then it becomes a chore, and not many people like chores.

Leave a Reply

