Spring/Summer 2014 Trend Report

Image

 

My task this week is getting the trend analysis together for Spring/Summer 2014, so that my designer can get inspired and start her collection for the next season. The whole process is incredibly exciting. I’m investigating reports and runway shows, finding the common trends as well as what I predict to be the new thing. 

So far I’m seeing a whole spectrum of color for all different aspects of fashion, especially menswear. In Womens’ clothing I see printed textiles, using more of textured fabrics instead of strong patterns. Patterns will still be present through the different themes of the collections. I see the 60’s theme with simple palettes and geometric shapes. The tribal and Indian theme is very much still present with the hipster following, but leaning more towards Moroccan influences with handwork and a color palette of nudes and brights. The designers who follow the American Sweetheart trend showed to lean towards nautical with florals, stripes, fruit prints, soft plaids, eyelet, and ginghams prints.

Of course, this is only based on the research I’ve been doing with the resources available on the internet. I plan on looking into this further, with help from my friends in FIDM. I wanna hear what you all think is coming next. What do you think will be the dos and don’ts come Spring/Summer 2014?

2 thoughts on “Spring/Summer 2014 Trend Report

  1. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog
    post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to send me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Awesome blog by
    the way!

    • Oh ofcourse I’d like to collaborate! First I really want to apologize for not replying right away, a lot of my comments were marked as spam which caused the delay! I will send an email asap!

Leave a Reply

