My Trend Forecast for Spring 2013

Image

phew! this week and last week have been a blur to me. Not only was I dealing with fashion week/ market week, I also had to drive to LA from San Diego (Let’s just say the traffic wasn’t so nice to me). Even with all the stress, I am totally grateful for the people I met and the collections I got to see. 

My forecast is based on what I saw for Spring/Summer as well as Fall/Winter 2013, in Paris, Milan, NY, and LA Fashion Weeks. Even if you disagree, or preferably agree, I’d still love to hear your insights. 

Spring:

Trending Colors: Mint green, Emerald Green, Pastel Coral, Pastel blush. Basically the color trends are focusing around the softer side of the palette, except for YELLOW. Lots of designers are getting creative with yellow, and are preferring the bold yellow.

Overall feel of the clothing: there is still the vibe of the hipster genre, but designers are going with cleaner lines to carry out the hipster trend. Street wear is still trying to bring back the 90’s midriff, some with the grunge feel. However, the big names are going with a more put together look of things, giving it structure.

FALL/WINTER 2013

Colors: The usual grey scale is always in season, but so are the whites, cremes and off-whites. The statement color for this season is bold red and wine red. The palette designers are going for include the bolder colors for their choice of statement pieces.  

Over-all: The clothes are working with the neutral palette but incorporating statement pieces. The collections I’ve seen still use the basics but are experimenting on the cut of the collar, and the incorporation of great accessories. 

That’s what I saw happening on the runways. I’m always excited for the new and beautiful things the fashion world brings!

Leave a Reply

